Business Excellence Awards-2024-04-22T12:40:50-04:00

Business Excellence Awards

Thank you to our presenting sponsor, BDO.

Bell Community Builder Award

To qualify, the nominated organization must be a member of the Chamber of Commerce Brantford-Brant is in good standing. It is awarded to a business or organization whose community investments have yielded the greatest social return on investment. The qualified organization must meet the following criteria:

  • Have been operating in Brantford-Brant for three years or more
  • Have initiative(s) that demonstrates sustained and long‐term commitment to improving the quality of life in the community
  • Have policies and practices that demonstrate accountability and responsibility to the community
  • Measurable impact of success.

Enterprise Brant Entrepreneur of the Year Award

To qualify, the individual must be operating a business at their own financial risk, and been in his/her present business for a minimum of three years, and meet the following criteria:

  • Exceptional Business Achievements
  • High Standard of Employee Relations and Customer Relations
  • Excellence in Community Relations
  • Advancements in Product Innovation and/or Technology
  • Growth in Sales and/or Employment
  • Demonstrates Environmental Responsibility
  • Actively promotes Brantford-Brant

Waterous, Holden, Amey, Hitchon Company of the Year Award

To qualify, the nominated business must be a member of the Chamber of Commerce Brantford-Brant, in good standing, have been in operation for a minimum of five years and meet the following criteria:

  • Have been in business for five years or more
  • Have made exceptional business achievements
  • High standard of employee relations and customer relations
  • Strong Corporate Philosophy
  • Embrace new technologies and markets
  • Positive image and impact in this region
  • Demonstrates Environmental Responsibility
  • Demonstrates Exemplary Corporate Citizenship

OLG Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award

To qualify, the nominated organization must be a member of the Chamber of Commerce Brantford-Brant in good standing and in operation for five years. It recognizes organizations that demonstrate an exceptional commitment to creating workplaces that are inclusive, respectful, and reflective of the community in which they exist.

  • Actively promotes diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives
  • Demonstrates consistent efforts to recognize the elements that make individuals unique
  • Operates a work environment where all individuals are treated fairly and respectfully
  • Creates opportunities to start conversations and advances a sense of belonging
  • Embraces corporate citizenship through leadership in social responsibility

David Baxter Memorial for Outstanding Individual Achievement

To qualify, the individual should possess many of the qualities associated with great leaders: have a purpose, show passion, be persistent, demonstrate patience, and be present. Presented to a member of the community, who, through their support and initiative, has made the community a better place to work, live, play and conduct business.

  • Charismatic communicator
  • Highly respected by peers
  • Serves as a mentor for other leaders
  • Inspires others
  • Has chaired or been active on boards of not-for-profit organizations
  • Respectful of all, regardless of social position and ability
  • Tireless fundraiser
  • If leading a business, has implemented strong corporate volunteer and/or fundraising initiatives which serve as an example of excellence to other businesses
  • Philanthropic on a personal level

Brant United Way “Not for Profit” Resiliency & Business Acumen Award

This award is specifically for not-for-profit organizations and/or charities that have demonstrated exceptional business practices that strengthen their ability to be more efficient, effective, and/or resilient.

Focusing on not-for-profit businesses that have applied learnings from the for-profit world to strategically enhance business functions such as financial management, marketing/communications, human resources, and organization design.

Highlighting the increasing challenges not-for-profits are experiencing and how sound business practices go hand in hand with responsive service delivery. The business systems must have been implemented within the two years.

Criteria – This award will be evaluated through a business lens, not from a service standpoint. Business strategies and systems to address items that include, but are not limited to:

  • Diversifying revenue models
  • Implementing more effective cost controls/finding efficiencies
  • Developed a new marketing strategy/organizational communication plan
  • Successfully deployed strategies to be more viable and sustainable
  • Became more resilient and/or enhanced business continuity plans.

Past Recipients of the Individual Outstanding Achievement Award are:

1999 R.N. Waterous

2000 R.B. Forbes

2001 J. Pryor Harris

2003 Mary Welsh

2004 Roger Davis

2005 Vyrt Sisson

2006 Lucy Marco

2007 Crawford Reid & George Campbell

2008 John G. Wilson

2009 Bruce Hodgson

2010 Paul Williamson

2011 Bill & Dorothy Campbell

2012 Bob MacLean

2013 Rick Sterne

2014 Vern Gale

2015 Jean Anderson

2016 Robert Caissie

2017 Bob Peeling

2018 Dennis Duce

2019 Ed Hensen

2020 Jim Boughner

2021 Anwar Dost

Nomination Form for 2025 Business Excellence Awards

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Award-Category (required)

    Subject (required)

    Go to Top